Thanksgiving was started by the Spaniards in 1565 in Saint Augustine, Florida, and not in New England in 1621, as earlier belived. On November 18th 1869, the last Thursday in November was proclaimed as the national Thanksgiving day, but still not a officially holiday. Thanksgiving remained a custom unsanctified by law, until President Roosevelt signed a bill on November 26th 1941, which established the fourth Thursday in November as the national Thanksgiving public holiday. Canada’s Thanksgiving is held on the second Monday in October.